State Selection Contacts

Please note: The state estimated deadline date is shown in brackets. However, the deadline in each state may be confirmed through the high school principal or the state selection contact.

ALABAMA [September 19, 2014]

Dr. Carolyn Townsend
Awards, Grant and Scholarship Administrator
Alabama Department of Education
50 N. Ripley Street
Montgomery, 36104
(334) 353-5440
ctownsend@alsde.edu 
www.alsde.edu
back to the top >>

ALASKA [November 7, 2014]

Mr. Bjorn Wolter
CTE Education Specialist
Alaska Department of Education & Early Development
PO Box 110500
Juneau, 99811-0500
(907) 465-6542
bjorn.wolter@alaska.gov
www.eed.state.ak.us\forms\forms2.html#Recognition
back to the top >>

ARIZONA [October 20, 2014]

Ms. Karla Bravo
Program and Project Specialist
Arizona Department of Education
1535 W. Jefferson Street, Bin #2
Phoenix, 85007
(602) 542-3710
karla.bravo@azed.gov
www.azed.gov/constituent-services/us-youth/
back to the top >>

ARKANSAS [October 3, 2014]

Ms. Maggie A. Herrick
Program Advisor, Social Studies
Arkansas Department of Education
4 State Capitol Mall, Room 301-B
Little Rock, 72201
(501) 682-6584
Margaret.Herrick@arkansas.gov
http://arkansased.org
back to the top >>

CALIFORNIA [October 1, 2014]

Ms. Dina Fong
USSYP Coordinator, Manager
Superintendent’s Initiatives Office-Correspondence Unit
California Department of Education
1430 N Street, Suite 5602
Sacramento, 95814
(916) 319-0551
dfong@cde.ca.gov
www.cde.ca.gov/eo/in/us/
back to the top >>

COLORADO [October 10, 2014]

Ms. Lynn Bamberry
Director, Competitive Grants and Awards
Colorado Department of Education
1560 Broadway, Suite 1450
Denver, 80202
(303) 866-6813
bamberry_l@cde.state.co.us 
http://www.cde.state.co.us/cdeadult/senateyouth.htm 
back to the top >>

CONNECTICUT [September 19, 2014]

Dr. Stephen W. Hoag
Director of CTE Statewide Assessment
Connecticut State Department of Education
State Office Building
165 Captiol Avenue
Hartford, 06106
(860) 713-6764
stephen.hoag@ct.gov
www.sde.ct.gov/sde/cwp/view.asp?a=2618&q=320898
back to the top >>

DELAWARE [October 17, 2014]

Mr. Preston Shockley
Education Associate, Social Studies
Delaware Department of Education
401 Federal Street, Suite 2
Dover, 19901
(302) 735-4180
preston.shockley@doe.k12.de.us
www.doe.K12.de.us
back to the top >>

DEPT. OF DEFENSE [November 3, 2014]

Ms. Rebecca Anderson
Social Studies Coordinator
Department of Defense Education Activity
4800 Mark Center Drive
Alexandria, 22350
(571) 372-1883
rebecca.anderson@hq.dodea.edu
www.dodea.edu
back to the top >>

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA [October 6, 2014]

Ms. Tiffany DeJesus
Program Manager
Office of the State Superintendent of Education(OSSE)
Government of the District of Columbia
810 First St NE, 3rd Floor
Washington, 20002
(202) 741-6415
tiffany.dejesus@dc.gov
www.osse.dc.gov
back to the top >>

FLORIDA [October 17, 2014]

Ms. Annette B. Pitts
Executive Director
Florida Law Related Education Association
2930 Kerry Forest Parkway, Suite 202
Tallahassee, 32309
(850) 386-8223
Staff@flrea.org
Applications available at: www.flrea.org
back to the top >>

GEORGIA [November 3, 2014]

Ms. Keisha N. Ford-Jenrette
Director of Development and Recognitions
Georgia Foundation for Public Education
Georgia Department of Education
2062 Twin Towers East
205 Jesse Hill Jr. Drive, SE
Atlanta, 30334
(404) 657-2949
kford@gadoe.org
http://www.gadoe.org/External-Affairs-and-Policy/Excellence-Recognition/Pages/U.S.-Senate-Youth-Program.aspx
back to the top >>

HAWAII [October 10, 2014]

Ms. Tiffany Frias
Educational Specialist, Student Activities
Hawaii Department of Education
475 22nd Avenue Room 214
Honolulu, 96816
(808) 305-9774
Tiffany_Frias/SUPT/HIDOE@notes.k12.hi.us
back to the top >>

IDAHO [October 31, 2014]

Mr. Peter G. Kavouras
Social Studies Coordinator
Idaho Department of Education
P. O. Box 83720
Boise, 83720-0027
(208) 332-6974
pgkavouras@sde.idaho.gov
www.sde.idaho.gov
back to the top >>

ILLINOIS [October 3, 2014]

Ms. Sally E. Veach
Principal Consultant
Illinois State Board of Education
100 North First Street, N-253
Springfield, 62777-0001
(217) 782-5589
sveach@isbe.net
www.isbe.net
back to the top >>

INDIANA [October 3, 2014]

Mr. Andrew Homan
Director of Civic Education
Indiana Bar Foundation
230 East Ohio Street, Suite 400
Indianapolis , 46204
(317) 269-7863
ahoman@inbf.org
http://inbf.org/CIVIC/UnitedStatesSenateYouthProgram/tabid/118/Default.aspx
back to the top >>

IOWA [October 7, 2014]

Ms. Stefanie Rosenberg-Wager
Social Studies Consultant
Iowa Department of Education
Grimes State Office Building
400 SE 14th Street
Des Moines, 50319
(515) 725-7842
stefanie.rosenbergwager@iowa.gov
https://www.educateiowa.gov/pk-12/content-areas/social-studies#US_Senate_Youth_Program
back to the top >>

KANSAS [October 10, 2014]

Ms. Tammy Miller
Administrative Specialist
Kansas State Department of Education
Landon State Office Building
900 SW Jackson St., Suite 102
Topeka, 66612-1212
(785) 296-4950
tmiller@ksde.org
www.ksde.org/Agency/FiscalandAdministrativeServices/CommunicationsandRecognitionPrograms/SenateYouth.aspx
back to the top >>

KENTUCKY [October 31, 2014]

Ms. Donna Melton
Program Consultant
Kentucky Department of Education
8th Floor, CPT, Room 806
500 Mero Street
Frankfort, 40601
(502) 564-1473 Ext. 4061
donna.melton@education.ky.gov
www.kentuckyschools.org
back to the top >>

LOUISIANA [October 15, 2014]

Ms. Marian Johnson
Education Program Consultant
Louisiana Department of Education
P. O. Box 94064 Room 4-270
Baton Rouge, 70804
(225) 219-7372
Marian.johnson@la.gov
www.louisianaschools.net
back to the top >>

MAINE [October 10, 2014]

Ms. Kristie Littlefield
Social Studies Specialist
Maine Department of Education
23 State House Station
Augusta, 04333-0023
(207) 624-6828
Kristie.littlefield@maine.gov
http://www.maine.gov/doe/socialstudies/senateyouthprogram/index.html/
back to the top >>

MARYLAND [October 20, 2014]

Ms. Vanessa Diggs
State Selection Contact
Maryland State Department of Education
200 W. Baltimore Street, 4th Floor
DOSFSS
Baltimore, 21201
(410) 767-0653
VDiggs@msde.state.md.us
www.marylandpublicschools.org
back to the top >>

MASSACHUSETTS [October 1, 2014]

Ms. Donna Taylor
Program Coordinator
Massachusetts Department of Education
75 Pleasant St.
Malden, 02148
(781) 338-6320
dtaylor@doe.mass.edu
http://www.doe.mass.edu/ssce/senate/
back to the top >>

MICHIGAN [October 31, 2014]

Ms. Mary Harmer
State Selection Contact for USSYP
Michigan Department of Education
P.O. Box 30008
608 Allegan Street
Lansing, 48909
(517) 335-3678
Harmerm@Michigan.gov
www.michigan.gov/socialstudies
back to the top >>

MINNESOTA [October 24, 2014]

Mr. Ken Kaffine
Communications Specialist
Minnesota Department of Education
1500 Highway 36 West
Roseville, 55113
(651) 582-8570
Ken.Kaffine@state.mn.us
http://education.state.mn.us
back to the top >>

MISSISSIPPI [September 30, 2014]

Ms. Cerissa Neal
Bureau Manager, Educator Quality
Mississippi Department of Education
P.O. Box 771
Jackson, 39205
(601) 359-3631
CNeal@mde.k12.ms.us
www.mde.k12.ms.us/teacher-center/us-senate-youth-program
back to the top >>

MISSOURI [September 30, 2014]

Mr. Bill Gerling
Assistant Director Assessment/Social Studies Consultant
MO Department of Elementary & Secondary Education
P.O. Box 480
Jefferson City, 65102-0480
(573) 751-0398
Bill.Gerling@dese.mo.gov
www.dese.mo.gov
back to the top >>

MONTANA [October 10, 2014]

Ms. Tobie Liedes
Program Specialist
Montana Office of Public Instruction
PO Box 202501
Helena, 59620-2501
(406) 444-2417
TLiedes2@mt.gov
http://opi.mt.gov/Programs/SchoolPrograms/index.html?gpm=1_10
back to the top >>

NEBRASKA [October 3, 2014]

Mr. Harris Payne
Social Studies Director
Nebraska Department of Education
301 Centennial Mall South
Lincoln, 68509-4987
(402) 471-2449
harris.payne@nebraska.gov
www.education.ne.gov/SS
back to the top >>

NEVADA [October 27, 2014]

Ms. Laurie Thake
Assistant to the Deputy Superintendent for Student Achievement
Nevada Department of Education
700 E. Fifth Street, Ste. 100
Carson City, 89701
(775) 687-9224
lthake@doe.nv.gov
www.doe.nv.gov/Topic/U_S__Senate_Youth_Scholarship_Program/
back to the top >>

NEW HAMPSHIRE [October 15, 2014]

Ms. Lori J.Temple
Public Information Officer
New Hampshire Department of Education
101 Pleasant Street
Concord, 03301
(603) 271-6646
Lori.Temple@doe.nh.gov
http://www.state.nj.us/education/aps/cccs/ss/syp/
back to the top >>

NEW JERSEY [October 10, 2014]

Ms. Beverly R. Plein
Social Studies Coordinator
New Jersey Department of Education
PO Box 500
Trenton, 08625-0500
(609) 943-5732
beverly.plein@doe.state.nj.us
www.state.nj.us/education/aps/cccs/ss/syp/
back to the top >>

NEW MEXICO [October 10, 2014]

Ms. Julie Arnold
Awards Coordinator of the NMASSP
Mountain View Middle School
4101 Montreal LP.
Rio Rancho, NM 87124
(505) 867-0711, ext. 304
jarnold@rrps.net
www.nmassp.org
back to the top >>

NEW YORK [October 3, 2014]

Dr. Elisabeth Egetemeyr
Program Research Specialist
New York State Education Department
89 Washington Avenue, Room 320 EB
Albany, 12234
(518) 474-5922
eegeteme@mail.nysed.gov
http://www.p12.nysed.gov/ciai/socst/senateyouth.html 
back to the top >>

NORTH CAROLINA [October 5, 2014]

Ms. Michelle McLaughlin
High School Social Studies Consultant, Secondary Division
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction
K-12 Social Studies
6345 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, 27699
(919) 807-3924
michelle.mclaughlin@dpi.nc.gov
http://senateyouthnc.webs.com/
back to the top >>

NORTH DAKOTA [October 17, 2014]

Ms. Patricia A. Laubach
Program Administrator
North Dakota Department of Public Instruction
Department 201
600 E. Boulevard Avenue
Bismarck, 58505-0440
(701) 328-4525
plaubach@nd.gov 
www.dpi.state.nd.us
back to the top >>

OHIO [July 1, 2014]

Mr. Dwight Groce
Social Studies Consultant
Ohio Department of Education
25 S. Front Street – Mail Stop 509
Columbus, 43215
(614) 387-3200
Dwight.Groce@education.ohio.gov
www.education.ohio.gov
back to the top >>

OKLAHOMA [September 19, 2014]

Mr. Kelly S. Curtright
Social Studies Director
Oklahoma Department of Education
2500 North Lincoln Blvd.
Oklahoma City, 73105
(405) 522-3523
Kelly.Curtright@sde.ok.gov
http://sde.state.ok.us/
back to the top >>

OREGON [October 17, 2014]

Ms. Stephanie Parks
Executive Support Specialist
Office of the Deputy Superintendent
Oregon Department of Education
255 Capitol Street, NE
Salem, 97310
(503) 947-5801
Stephanie.parks@state.or.us
www.ode.state.or.us/search/page/?id=1496
back to the top >>

PENNSYLVANIA [October 15, 2014]

Mr. Jeff Kusniez
USSYP Coordinator
Pennsylvania Association of Student Councils
Boyertown High School
120 N. Monroe Street
Boyertown, 19512
(484) 332-4774
jkusniez@boyertownasd.org
http://www.pasc.net/ussys.html
back to the top >>

RHODE ISLAND [October 17, 2014]

Ms. Dana A. Wilson
Executive Staff Assistant, Office of the Commissioner
RI Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
255 Westminster Street
Providence, 02903
(401) 222-4690
Dana.Wilson@ride.ri.gov
www.ride.ri.gov/instruction/civics.aspx 
back to the top >>

SOUTH CAROLINA [September 30, 2014]

Mrs. Wanda Davis
Program Coordinator, USSYP
South Carolina Department of Education
1429 Senate Street
Rutledge Building, Room 1005-C
Columbia, 29201
(803) 734-8485
wdavis@ed.sc.gov
back to the top >>

SOUTH DAKOTA [September 26, 2014]

Mr. Mark Gageby
Management Analyst
South Dakota Department of Education
Office of Finance and Management
800 Governors Drive
Pierre, 57501-2294
(605) 773-3727
mark.gageby@state.sd.us
http://doe.sd.gov/secretary/senateyouth.aspx
back to the top >>

TENNESSEE [November 11, 2014]

Ms. Charlotte Woehler
Curriculum and Instruction
Tennessee Department of Education
11th Floor, Andrew Johnson Tower
710 James Robertson Parkway
Nashville, 37243
(615) 253-4344
charlotte.woehler@tn.gov
www.tn.gov/education/instruction/student_opportunities.shtml
back to the top >>

TEXAS [October 15, 2014]

Ms. Sara Grunberger
Program Manager
Federal and State Education Policy, Texas Education Agency
1701 N. Congress Ave.
Austin, Texas  78701
(512)463-8254
Sara.grunberger@tea.state.tx.us
www.tea.state.tx.us
back to the top >>

UTAH [October 24, 2014]

Ms. Mindy Kalakis
Coordinator
Utah State Office of Education
250 E 500 S
PO Box 144200
Salt Lake City, 84114
(801) 538-7719
mindy.kalakis@schools.utah.gov
www.schools.utah.gov/curr/socialstudies/
back to the top >>

VERMONT [October 10, 2014]

Mr. Kenneth J. Page
Executive Director
Vermont Principals Association
Two Prospect Street, Suite #3
Montpelier, 05602
(802) 229-0547
kpage@vpaonline.org
www.vpaonline.org
back to the top >>

VIRGINIA [September 26, 2014]

Ms. Christonya Brown
History, Social Sciences Specialist
Virginia Department of Education
P.O. Box 2120
Richmond, 23218
(804) 225-2893
Christonya.Brown@doe.Virginia.gov
www.doe.virginia.gov
back to the top >>

WASHINGTON [August 9, 2014]

Ms. Beth Schultz
High School Representative Council Coordinator
Association of Washington School Principals
1021 8th Ave. SE
Olympia, 98501-1500
(800) 562-6100
Beth@awsp.org
www.awsp.org
back to the top >>

WEST VIRGINIA [September 19, 2014]

Mr. Robert Wiseman
Social Studies Coordinator
West Virginia Department of Education
1900 Kanawha Blvd. East
Charleston, 25305
(304) 558-5325 Ext. 53220
rjwisema@k12.wv.us
http://wvde.state.wv.us/socialstudies/senate-youth.html
back to the top >>

WISCONSIN [October 13, 2014]

Ms. Kristen McDaniel
Social Studies Consultant
Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
PO Box 7841
Madison, 53707
(608) 266-2207
Kristen.McDaniel@dpi.wi.gov
bit.ly/WI-USSYP
back to the top >>

WYOMING [September 26, 2014]

Ms. Stephanie Brady
Social Studies Consultant
Wyoming Department of Education
2300 Capitol Avenue
2nd Floor
Cheyenne, 82002-0050
(307) 777-3793
stephanie.brady@wyo.gov
www.edu.wyoming.gov/
back to the top >>