State Selection Contacts

Please note: The state estimated deadline date is shown in brackets. However, the deadline in each state may be confirmed through the high school principal or the state selection contact.

ALABAMA [September 2014]

Ms. Carolyn Townsend
Awards, Grant and Scholarship Administrator
Alabama Department of Education
50 N. Ripley Street
Montgomery, 36104
(334) 353-5440
ctownsend@alsde.edu 
www.alsde.edu
back to the top >>

ALASKA [October 2014]

Ms. Shari Paul
USSYP Manager for Alaska
Alaska Department of Education & Early Development
801 West 10th Street
Suite 200
Juneau, 99811
(907) 465-6535
Shari.paul@alaska.gov
http://www.eed.state.ak.us\forms\forms2.html#Recognition
back to the top >>

ARIZONA [October 2014]

Ms. Karla Bravo
Program and Project Specialist
Arizona Department of Education
1535 W. Jefferson Street, Bin #2
Phoenix, 85007
(602) 542-3710
karla.bravo@azed.gov
http://http://www.azed.gov/constituent-services/us-youth/
back to the top >>

ARKANSAS [October 2014]

Ms. Maggie A. Herrick
Program Advisor, Social Studies
Arkansas Department of Education
4 State Capitol Mall, Room 301-B
Little Rock, 72201
(501) 682-6584
Margaret.Herrick@arkansas.gov
http://arkansased.org
back to the top >>

CALIFORNIA [September 2014]

Ms. Dina Fong
USSYP Coordinator, Manager
Superintendent’s Initiatives Office-Correspondence Unit
California Department of Education
1430 N Street, Suite 5602
Sacramento, 95814
(916) 319-0551
dfong@cde.ca.gov
http://www.cde.ca.gov/eo/in/us/
back to the top >>

COLORADO [October 2014]

Ms. Lynn Bamberry
Director, Competitive Grants and Awards
Colorado Department of Education
1560 Broadway, Suite 1450
Denver, 80202
(303) 866-6813
bamberry_l@cde.state.co.us 
http://www.cde.state.co.us/cdeadult/senateyouth.htm 
back to the top >>

CONNECTICUT [September 2014]

Dr. Stephen W. Hoag
Director of CTE Statewide Assessment
Connecticut State Department of Education
State Office Building – Room 205
165 Captiol Avenue
Hartford, 06106
(860) 713-6764
stephen.hoag@ct.gov
www.sde.ct.gov/sde/cwp/view.asp?a=2618&q=320898
back to the top >>

DELAWARE [October 2014]

Mr. Preston Shockley
Education Associate, Social Studies
Delaware Department of Education
401 Federal Street, Suite 2
Dover, 19901
(302) 735-4180
pshockley@doe.k12.de.us
www.doe.K12.de.us
back to the top >>

DEPT. OF DEFENSE [October 2014]

Ms. Rebecca Anderson
ELA Coordinator
Department of Defense Education Activity
4800 Mark Center Drive
Alexandria, 22350
(571) 372-6017
rebecca.anderson@hq.dodea.edu
www.dodea.edu
back to the top >>

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA [October 2014]

Ms. Carmen Gathers
Management Analyst, Higher Education Financial Services
Office of the State Superintendent of Education(OSSE)
Government of the District of Columbia
810 First St NE, 3rd Floor
Washington, 20002
(202) 481-3951
carmen.gathers@dc.gov
www.osse.dc.gov
back to the top >>

FLORIDA [October 2014]

Ms. Annette B. Pitts
Executive Director
Florida Law Related Education Association
2930 Kerry Forest Parkway, Suite 202
Tallahassee, 32309
(850) 386-8223
ABPflreaED@aol.com
www.flrea.org
back to the top >>

GEORGIA [October 2014]

Ms. Keisha N. Ford-Jenrette
Director of Development and Recognitions
Georgia Foundation for Public Education
Georgia Department of Education
2062 Twin Towers East
205 Jesse Hill Jr. Drive, SE
Atlanta, 30334
(404) 657-2949
kford@gadoe.org
www.gadoe.org/School-Improvement/GHP/Pages/U.S.-Senate-Youth-Program.aspx
back to the top >>

HAWAII [October 2014]

Ms. Tiffany Frias
Educational Specialist, Student Activities
Hawaii Department of Education
475 22nd Avenue Room 211
Honolulu, 96816
(808) 203-5505 Ext. 2117
Tiffany_Frias/SUPT/HIDOE@notes.k12.hi.us
back to the top >>

IDAHO [October 2014]

Mr. Peter G. Kavouras
Social Studies Coordinator
Idaho Department of Education
P. O. Box 83720
Boise, 83720-0027
(208) 332-6974
pgkavouras@sde.idaho.gov
www.sde.idaho.gov
back to the top >>

ILLINOIS [October 2014]

Ms. Sally E. Veach
Principal Consultant
Illinois State Board of Education
100 North First Street, N-253
Springfield, 62777-0001
(217) 782-5589
sveach@isbe.net
www.isbe.net
back to the top >>

INDIANA [October 2014]

Mr. Andrew Homan
Director of Civic Education
Indiana Bar Foundation
230 East Ohio Street, Suite 400
Indianapolis , 46204
(317) 269-7863
ahoman@inbf.org
www.inbf.org
back to the top >>

IOWA [October 2014]

Ms. Stefanie Rosenberg-Wager
Social Studies Consultant
Iowa Department of Education
Grimes State Office Building
400 SE 14th Street
Des Moines, 50319
(515) 725-7842
stefanie.rosenbergwager@iowa.gov
http://www.state.ia.us/educate
back to the top >>

KANSAS [October 2014]

Ms. Tammy Miller
Administrative Specialist
Kansas State Department of Education
Landon State Office Building
900 SW Jackson St., Suite 102
Topeka, 66612-1212
(785) 296-3201
tmiller@ksde.org
www.ksde.org
back to the top >>

KENTUCKY [October 2014]

Ms. Donna Melton
Program Consultant
Kentucky Department of Education
8th Floor, CPT, Room 806
500 Mero Street
Frankfort, 40601
(502) 564-4201 Ext. 4833
donna.melton@education.ky.gov
www.kentuckyschools.org
back to the top >>

LOUISIANA [October 2014]

Ms. Marian Johnson
Education Program Consultant
Louisiana Department of Education
P. O. Box 94064 Room 4-270
Baton Rouge, 70804
(225) 219-7372
Marion.johnson@la.gov
www.louisianaschools.net
back to the top >>

MAINE [October 2014]

Ms. Kristie Littlefield
Social Studies Specialist
Maine Department of Education
23 State House Station
Augusta, 04333-0023
(207) 624-6828
Kristie.littlefield@maine.gov
http://www.maine.gov/education/
back to the top >>

MARYLAND [September 2014]

Ms. Paula McCoach
Character Education & Student Leadership Specialist
Maryland State Department of Education
200 W. Baltimore Street, 4th Floor
DOSFSS
Baltimore, 21201
(410) 767-0047
pmccoach@msde.state.md.us
www.marylandpublicschools.org
back to the top >>

MASSACHUSETTS [October 2014]

Ms. Donna Taylor
Program Coordinator
Commonwealth of Massachusetts, Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
75 Pleasant St.
Malden, 02148
(781) 338-6320
dtaylor@doe.mass.edu
http://www.doe.mass.edu/ssce/senate/
back to the top >>

MICHIGAN [November 2014]

Ms. Mary Harmer
State Selection Contact for USSYP
Michigan Department of Education
P.O. Box 30008
608 Allegan Street
Lansing, 48909
(517) 335-3678
Harmerm@Michigan.gov
www.michigan.gov/socialstudies
back to the top >>

MINNESOTA [October 2014]

Mr. Ken Kaffine
Communications Specialist
Minnesota Department of Education
1500 Highway 36 West
Roseville, 55113
(651) 582-8570
Ken.Kaffine@state.mn.us
http://education.state.mn.us
back to the top >>

MISSISSIPPI [September 2014]

Ms. Cecily NcNair
Director, Teacher Center
Mississippi Department of Education
P.O. Box 771
Jackson, 39205
(601) 359-3631
cmcnair@mde.k12.ms.us
www.mde.k12.ms.us
back to the top >>

MISSOURI [September 2014]

Mr. Bill Gerling
Assistant Director Assessment/Social Studies Consultant
MO Department of Elementary & Secondary Education
P.O. Box 480
Jefferson City, 65102-0480
(573) 751-0398
Bill.Gerling@dese.mo.gov
www.dese.mo.gov
back to the top >>

MONTANA [October 2014]

Ms. Tobie Liedes
Program Specialist
Montana Office of Public Instruction
PO Box 202501
Helena, 59620-2501
(406) 444-2417
TLiedes2@mt.gov
http://opi.mt.gov/Programs/SchoolPrograms/index.html?gpm=1_10
back to the top >>

NEBRASKA [October 2014]

Mr. Harris Payne
Social Studies Director
Nebraska Department of Education
301 Centennial Mall South
Lincoln, 68509-4987
(402) 471-2449
harris.payne@nebraska.gov
back to the top >>

NEVADA [November 2014]

Ms. Laurie Thake
Assistant to the Interim Superintendent
Nevada Department of Education
700 E. Fifth Street, Ste. 100
Carson City, 89701
(775) 687-9224
lthake@doe.nv.gov
www.doe.nv.gov
back to the top >>

NEW HAMPSHIRE [October 2014]

Ms. Lori J.Temple
Public Information Officer
New Hampshire Department of Education
101 Pleasant Street
Concord, 03301
(603) 271-6646
Lori.Temple@doe.nh.gov
www.education.nh.gov/recognition/us_senate.htm
back to the top >>

NEW JERSEY [October 2014]

Ms. Beverly R. Plein
Social Studies Coordinator
New Jersey Department of Education
100 Riverview Plaza
PO Box 500
Trenton, 08625-0500
(609) 943-5732
beverly.plein@doe.state.nj.us
www.state.nj.us/education/clear/students/syp
back to the top >>

NEW MEXICO [September 2014]

Mr. Erik Bose
President of NMASSP
SIATech Charter High School
1500 Indian School RD NW
Albuquerque, 87104
(505) 459-4439
erik.bose@siatech.org
www.nmassp.org
back to the top >>

NEW YORK [October 2014]

Elisabeth Egetemeyr, Ph.D.
Program Research Specialist
New York State Education Department
89 Washington Avenue, Room 320 EB
Albany, 12234
(518) 402-5410
eegeteme@mail.nysed.gov
http://www.p12.nysed.gov/ciai/socst/senateyouth.html 
back to the top >>

NORTH CAROLINA [October 2014]

Ms. Michelle McLaughlin
High School Social Studies Consultant, Secondary Division
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction
K-12 Social Studies
6345 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, 27699
(919) 807-3924
michelle.mclaughlin@dpi.nc.gov
http://senateyouthnc.webs.com/
back to the top >>

NORTH DAKOTA [October 2014]

Ms. Pat Laubach
Program Administrator
North Dakota Department of Public Instruction
Department 201
600 E. Boulevard Avenue
Bismarck, 58505-0440
(701) 328-4525
plaubach@nd.gov 
www.dpi.state.nd.us
back to the top >>

OHIO [July 2014]

Mr. Dwight Groce
Social Studies Consultant
Ohio Department of Education
25 S. Front Street – Mail Stop 509
Columbus, 43215
(614) 387-3200
Dwight.Groce@education.ohio.gov
www.education.ohio.gov
back to the top >>

OKLAHOMA [September 2014]

Mr. Kelly S. Curtright
Social Studies Director
Oklahoma Department of Education
2500 North Lincoln Blvd.
Oklahoma City, 73105
(405) 522-3523
Kelly.Curtright@sde.ok.gov
www.ok.gov/sde/
back to the top >>

OREGON [October 2014]

Ms. Stephanie Parks
Executive Support Specialist
Office of the Deputy Superintendent
Oregon Department of Education
255 Capitol Street, NE
Salem, 97310
(503) 947-5801
Stephanie.parks@state.or.us
www.ode.state.or.us/search/page/?id=1496
back to the top >>

PENNSYLVANIA [October 2014]

Mr. Jim Finnemeyer
PASC Executive Director
Pennsylvania Association of Student Councils
244 Oak Park Road
Hatfield, 19440
(215) 280-9299
Pascinfo@aol.com
www.pasc.net
back to the top >>

RHODE ISLAND [October 2014]

Ms. Dana Wilson
Executive Staff Assistant, Office of the Commissioner
RI Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
255 Westminster Street
Providence, 02903
(401) 222-4690
Dana.Wilson@ride.ri.gov
www.ride.ri.gov/instruction/civics.aspx 
back to the top >>

SOUTH CAROLINA [September 2014]

Mrs. Wanda Davis
Program Coordinator, USSYP
South Carolina Department of Education
1429 Senate Street
Rutledge Building, Room 1005-C
Columbia, 29201
(803) 734-8485
wdavis@ed.sc.gov
back to the top >>

SOUTH DAKOTA [September 2014]

Mr. Mark Gageby
Management Analyst
South Dakota Department of Education
Office of Finance and Management
800 Governors Drive
Pierre, 57501-2294
(605) 773-3727
mark.gageby@state.sd.us
www.doe.sd.gov/secretary/scholarships.asp#senate
back to the top >>

TENNESSEE [October 2014]

Ms. Charlotte Woehler
Curriculum and Instruction
Tennessee Department of Education
11th Floor, Andrew Johnson Tower
710 James Robertson Parkway
Nashville, 37243
(615) 253-4344
charlotte.woehler@tn.gov
http://www.tn.gov/education/ci/senate_youth/index.shtml
back to the top >>

TEXAS [October 2014]

Ms. Sara Grunberger
Program Manager
Federal and State Education Policy, Texas Education Agency
1701 N. Congress Ave.
Austin, Texas  78701
phone: 512-463-8254
Sara.grunberger@tea.state.tx.us
web: www.tea.state.tx.us
back to the top >>

UTAH [October 2014]

Ms. Tara Chase
Coordinator
Utah State Office of Education
250 East 500 South
PO Box 144200
Salt Lake City, 84114
(801) 842-2407
tara.chase8388@yahoo.com
www.schools.utah.gov/curr/socialstudies/
back to the top >>

VERMONT [October 2014]

Mr. Ken Page
Executive Director
Vermont Principals Association
Two Prospect Street, Suite #3
Montpelier, 05602
(802) 229-0547
kpage@vpaonline.org
www.vpaonline.org
back to the top >>

VIRGINIA [September 2014]

Ms. Christonya Brown
History, Social Sciences Specialist
Virginia Department of Education
P.O. Box 2120
Richmond, 23218
(804) 225-2893
Christonya.Brown@doe.Virginia.gov
www.doe.virginia.gov
back to the top >>

WASHINGTON [August 2014]

Ms. Linda Thomas
High School Representative Council Coordinator
Association of Washington School Principals
1021 8th Ave. SE
Olympia, 98501-1500
(800) 562-6100
linda@awsp.org
www.awsp.org
back to the top >>

WEST VIRGINIA [September 2014]

Mr. Robert Wiseman
Social Studies Coordinator
West Virginia Department of Education
1900 Kanawha Blvd. East
Charleston, 25305
(304) 558-5325 Ext. 53220
rjwisema@access.k12.wv.us
http://wvde.state.wv.us
back to the top >>

WISCONSIN [October 2014]

Ms. Kristen McDaniel
Social Studies Consultant
Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
PO Box 7841
Madison, 53707
(608) 266-2207
Kristen.McDaniel@dpi.wi.gov
bit.ly/WI-USSYP
back to the top >>

WYOMING [September 2014]

Ms. Stephanie Brady
Social Studies Consultant
Wyoming Department of Education
2300 Capitol Avenue
2nd Floor
Cheyenne, 82002-0050
(307) 777-3793
stephanie.brady@wyo.gov
www.edu.wyoming.gov/
back to the top >>