Press Releases
Press Releases

January 22, 2014 Hearst Multimedia Competition I Winners Named Next Article








San Francisco – The winners in college multimedia journalism were announced today in the William Randolph Hearst Foundation's Journalism Awards Program, in which 105 undergraduate journalism programs at universities across the nation are eligible to participate.  The category of this competition was Narrative Multimedia Storytelling – Features.  69 entries from 42 schools were submitted in this competition.


First Place has been awarded to SAMUEL  GAUSE, a senior from University of Missouri.  Samuel will receive a $2,600 scholarship for his winning multimedia piece titled “Transition in Flight” from the  University of Missouri will receive a matching grant, as do the journalism departments of all scholarship winners.  Samuel also qualifies to participate in the Hearst National Championship this June in Washington, DC.


Other multimedia scholarship winners are:


Second Place, $2,000 award, KATHRYN  L.  CARLSON, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill


Third Place, $1,500 award, DANNY  GUY, Western Kentucky University 


Fourth Place, $1,000 award, DARIEL  MEDINA, San Francisco State University


Fifth Place, $1,000 award, KATIE  MCLEAN, Western Kentucky University 


The sixth through tenth place finalists are:


Sixth Place, certificate, KAYLEE  EVERLY, University of Nebraska-Lincoln


Seventh Place, certificate, REBECA  RODRIGUEZ, University of Texas, Austin


Eighth Place, certificate, ZHENRU  ZHANG, Iowa State University of Science & Technology


Ninth Place, certificate, CAROLYN  VAN  HOUTEN, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill


Tenth Place, certificate, CATIE  L’HEUREUX, Northwestern University


The 54th annual Journalism Awards Program includes five writing competitions, two photojournalism competitions, one radio competition, two television competitions, and three additional multimedia competitions.  The program offers up to $500,000 in scholarships, matching grants and stipends annually. 


The Multimedia judges are:  Cory Tolbert Haik, Executive Producer for digital news, The Washington Post, VA; Sue Morrow, Assistant Multimedia Director, Sacramento Bee, CA; Kate O’Brian, President, Al Jazeera America, New York, NY.


Western Kentucky University is in first place after this first competition in the Intercollegiate Multimedia Competition with the highest accumulated student points.  It is followed by: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; University of Missouri; San Francisco State University; University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Syracuse University; Iowa State University; Northwestern University (tie); Arizona State University (tie); University of Texas, Austin. The final intercollegiate winners will be announced in April.  The top three intercollegiate winners earn $10,000, $4,000 and $2,000 respectively.


To view the winners’ work, please check the monthly winners section of the website.


#  #  #


Contact:  Jan Watten, 415.908.4565


90 New Montgomery Street, Suite 1212, San Francisco, CA 94105-4504 • Phone: (415) 908-4565 or (800) 841-7048 ext. 4565
© 2015 The Hearst Journalism Award Program. All rights reserved. Credits.