Please select the competition year from the drop-down menu.

1978 Championship Winners

Writing Winners
First Place  Peter M. Rinearson, University of Washington, $2,000 Scholarship
Second Place   Edward Lion, Michigan State University, $1,500 Scholarship
Third Place  Barbra Armaroli Butler, Drake University, $1,000 Scholarship

Photo Winners
First Place  David L. Griffin, Ohio University, $1,500 Scholarship
Second Place   John E. Moran, University of Florida, $1,000 Scholarship
Third Place  Andrew D. Hayt, Arizona State University, $700 Scholarship

Previous Year
Next Year

90 New Montgomery Street, Suite 1212, San Francisco, CA 94105-4504 • Phone: (415) 908-4565 or (800) 841-7048 ext. 4565
© 2015 The Hearst Journalism Award Program. All rights reserved. Credits.